Meanders of Love

Photo Tanya LaPerrière
Historical and musical tour

Fall under the spell of the viola, the oboe and the flute d’amour while winding your way through Old Montreal, diving into history and music from the 17th and 18th centuries. Take in a mournful crypt, an enchanted garden, and a breathtaking lookout onto the mighty river.

Departures at 9:00 am (French), 9:30 am (English), 11:00 am (French), 11:30 am (English)

Not recommended for people with mobility issues. The activity will take place even in case of rain.

With tour guides from 16/42, Tanya LaPerrière, viola d’amore, Karim Nasr, oboe d’amore, Daphne Manavopoulos, violin, Eliana Zimmerman, baroque cello, Esteban la Rota, theorbo, Grégoire Jeay, flute d’amore and Mélisande Corriveau, viola da gamba.


40 $ - regular, 35 $ - 65 years and older, 15 $ - students

Departure in English at 11:30 am, Marguerite-Bourgeoys Museum
400, Saint-Paul East Street (metro Champ-de-Mars)
Montreal QC

Notes de programme

Meanders of Love

Viole d’amour, gravure de Weigel

Tanya LaPerrière, viola d’amore

An exploration in improvisation, electronics, loops, meditation, and capriciousness for the viola d’amore.

Notes on the instrument

A viola d'amore is tuned in D minor and has 14 strings (of which seven are played and the rest are sympathetic). This instrument is from the Tyrol region of modern-day Italy and Austria. It is dated from the baroque period and its maker is unknown. 



Grégoire Jeay, flute d’amour

Mélisande Corriveau, viola da gamba


Georg Philipp Telemann (1681-1767)

Sonata for viola d’amore and basso continuo in G major (excerpts)

Affectuoso - Allegro


Pierre Danican Philidor (1681-1731)

Suite for flute and basso continuo

Prélude - Gigue


Antonio Vivaldi (1678 - 1741)

First aria (chaconne) from the cantata Piango gemo sospiro e peno 


Michel Blavet (1700 - 1768)

Adagio in A minor


Karim Nasr, oboe d'amore

Daphne Manavopolous, violin 

Elianna Zimmerman, cello

Esteban La Rotta, lute


Georg Philipp Telemann (1681-1767)

Trio for violin, oboe d'amore and continuo, TWV 42: A9

Vivace - Soave - Vivace


Karl Heinrich Graun (1704 -1759)

Trio for violin, oboe d'amore and continuo WV B XV: 62 

Adagio - Allegro - Largo


George Frideric Handel (1685 - 1759)

Aria Laschia chio pianga, from the opera Rinaldo